

## Meeting called to order at 12:25PM; quorum was established.

President Lydia Pruett introduced the Officers and Board to the General Membership. All foreign members were asked to stand and be welcomed.

Barbara O'Neill moved to approve the minutes of the last General Meeting as published, Pat Murphy seconded, motion passed.

## Recording Secretary's Report – Jan Leikam

Currently our membership consists of 444 households, 563 individual members. Of that total, 550 are voting members with 13 additional juniors.

Ms. Leikam announced the results of the 2011 and 2012 judge ballots: Sweepstakes – K C Artley and Lorrie Scott. Regular Classes – Amy Sorbie and Patti Neale Joy Windle moved to approve the Recording Secretary's report, Valori Tarantella seconded, motion passed.

# Treasurer's Report – Kelly Brunarski

Ms Brunarski presented a detailed report breaking down the income and expenses of 2008 and her projections for 2009.

Patty Hull moved to accept the Treasurer's Report, Prudence Hlatky seconded, motion passed.

## **Committee Reports**

The annual Health Committee report was printed and available on each table. No additional reports were presented.

Suzanne Deghi moved to accept the Committee Reports, Karen Dumke seconded, motion passed.

#### **Unfinished Business**

President Pruett praised Veni Harlan and Robin Casey for their work on the disaster plan, "Ready Borzoi" with many kudos added by the General Membership for this effort.

Jan Leikam reminded the membership of the Mentor Application form that she has included in each Welcome Bag and encouraged everyone to apply.

President Pruett announced that the Holiday Inn in Lawrence, KS has been chosen to Host the 2011 National during the week of April 5, 2011. Kay Cassela will be the Facility Coordinator.

#### **New Business**

President Pruett announced that the problems with the postal service delivery of the last ballot mailing has persuaded us to post the ballot forms on the website to be downloaded by the membership and mailed to the tabulator. Ballots will only be accepted when received by the tabulator in the prescribed manner. We will continue to mail to those members who have requested that minutes by sent via USPS.

Barbara O'Neill announced that the 2010 Yearbook is being organized and plans are to have this available at the 2011 National if the membership approves – the response was overwhelmingly in favor of this undertaking. She will send out more information this summer.

A discussion of ASFA vs AKC lure coursing trials at the National Specialty began. Current guidelines call for an ASFA trial to be held with the scores from this event being used to determine the Triathlon winners, however there is no rule denying an additional AKC lure trial and this has been done a number of times in the past. Nancy Reimer moved to require both types of Lure Trials at all National Specialties, Mary Childs seconded, motion passed 96 yea – 6 nay.

Joyce Katona moved to hold the Lure Coursing at the end of the week following Best of Breed judging and prior to the Award Banquet. Deb Vidaver-Cohen seconded. After much discussion the vote was called and with only 3 yeas, the motion was defeated.

Patti Neale moved to restrict AKC approved Borzoi judges from judging sweepstakes at the National, Ron Williams seconded, motion passed.

Bonnie Nichols asked about the obedience judge's current requirement to be local to the venue. It was explained that the restrictions are an effort to make this event more affordable. President Pruett said that she would put this issue on the agenda for the August Board meeting.

Cindi Gredys moved to award Certificates to the top five Junior Showmanship individuals each year at the Annual Awards Banquet, Nancy Reimer seconded; motion passed.

Prudence Hlatky moved to adjourn, Dee Jones seconded. Meeting Adjourned at 1:21PM

Rev.